Reading List

After writing my last blog post, I decided I needed to do some hardcore reading, and not just stuff on the Internet. I went to the library after work yesterday and checked out the following:

50 Reasons People Give for Believing in a God (Guy P. Harrison)

The God Delusion (Richard Dawkins)

God Is Not Great: How Religion Poisons Everything (Christopher Hitchens)

Letter to a Christian Nation (Sam Harris)

Misquoting Jesus: the Story Behind Who Changed the Bible and Why (Bart D. Ehrman)

The Tipping Point: How Little Things Can Make a Big Difference (Malcolm Gladwell)

And a few others, like a collection of H.P. Lovecraft stories. May as well throw a little Cthulhu in the mix.

While looking for all these books at the library, I felt a little guilty. Not guilty as in “I’m going to hell for this,” but as in “This list is awfully biased.” To be fair, though, it isn’t like I need to research arguments for belief in a god. I grew up with it. I’ve been to a shitload of churches (okay, “shitload of churches” might send me to hell, if I thought such a place existed) and I’ve heard all kinds of reasons that atheism is wrong and bad and (*snerk*) illogical. My reading list is an attempt to balance all that out with things that might have a little bit more solid credibility than r/atheism.

In unrelated news, tonight is the annual Holly & Ivy dinner at one of the residence halls where I work. I’m pretty excited; I haven’t been to a residence hall program since I was an RA, and this one sounds like a lot of fun (plus free food). Everyone here seems really stressed out today, myself included, so I hope this mellows people out a little. We’re all so ready for Thanksgiving break. My plan is to drive north to Indy on Wednesday night for dinner with a friend, drive down to Greenwood after that, stay in Greenwood until Sunday afternoon/evening, then come back home to Bloomington for the last few weeks of the semester. My 25th birthday is the second Saturday in December, a week after that the res halls close, a week after that is Christmas, a week after that is New Year’s Eve/Day, then suddenly it’s 2012. November and December always fly by.

In the meantime, I can has weekend pls?

Posted on 17 November 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

