Shiny things

I’ve been making lots of jewelry lately. Bracelets, specifically. They’re the perfect size and scope–earrings take just a few minutes to make and aren’t too satisfying, and I rarely wear necklaces other than the silver ones I wear every day. That said, I’m not necessarily making all these bracelets for myself. I’m hoping to sell them at craft fairs and such. If they don’t sell, oh well, I’ll have lots of pretty bracelets to wear!

My photography is really not good at all, but here are a few bracelets I’ve made lately.

Wreath

“Wreath” is a bracelet made with pearly glass rondelle-shaped beads. Each circular link is three jump rings linked in a Mobius knot. Closes with a lobster clasp.

Winter Berries

“Winter Berries” is a Byzantine chain maille bracelet interrupted by red glass pearls. Closes with a lobster clasp.

Regina

“Regina” is a queen’s-link chain maille bracelet. Closes with a lobster clasp.

Konstantine

“Konstantine” is a Byzantine chain maille bracelet interrupted by glass beads. The dark rings are hematite-colored glass beads, and inside are dark rose glass pearl beads. Closes with a lobster clasp.

I tried to get good pictures of my other three bracelets–Symphony, Valencia, and Galactic–but obviously I’m better at beading than I am at photography. “Symphony” is a series of off-white glass pearls on twisted wire links. “Galactic” is a series of glittery blue-black round glass beads on twisted wire links. “Valencia” is a Byzantine chain maille bracelet, no beads.

Answers to the most common questions I get:

  • I started doing wirework in December 2005. Self-taught, with the help of all kinds of great books and websites.
  • I make all of the chain links (jump rings) by hand, starting with a spool of wire.
  • The wire is copper with a sterling silver coating.
  • I design them pretty spontaneously–no patterns or plans.
  • Yes, I sell them (see mention of craft fairs above), but I don’t like to pimp them out because to me, this is a hobby. A potentially lucrative hobby, but I want to keep it low-stress for myself. Simply put, I don’t exactly advertise but I definitely do commissions.

So anyway, that explains a) what I do with my time, b) why my fingernails are mangled and my fingertips are callused, and c) where my paychecks go after I pay rent.

Posted on 12 November 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

